WordPress 6.0 Devnotes, Sneak Peeks and articles – Weekend edition 214

Howdy,

Today’s Weekend Edition is full of WordPress 6.0 developer notes and articles. The Release Candidate 1 was released this week. Now is a good time to test the new version with your themes, plugins and hosting. And report bugs and quirks!

It’s already quite late, let’s get this on the road!

Be well, and have a great next week!

Yours,πŸ’•
Birgit

πŸŽ™οΈ New episode: Gutenberg Changelog #66 – Gutenberg 13.1, New Zealand, InnerBlocks with co-hosts Birgit Pauli-Haack and Mary Job. Special Guest: Glen Davies

Developer Notes for Block Themes and the Editor in WordPress 6.0

The WordPress 6.0 Field Guide is published for your perusal. Grab’ your favorite beverage and start reading. πŸ™‚

Here, as always, I collected the Dev Notes specifically related to the Block editor:

Building Themes

There is also the Block Editor miscellaneous Dev Notes for WordPress 6.0 with the following short notes:

There are a ton of details to digest. Take you time. πŸ™‚

 “Keeping up with Gutenberg – Index 2022” 
A chronological list of the WordPress Make Blog posts from various teams involved in Gutenberg development: Design, Theme Review Team, Core Editor, Core JS, Core CSS, Test and Meta team from Jan. 2021 on. Updated by yours truly. The index 2020 is here

Block editor for content creators, site owners and site builders.

In the thirtieth episode of the WordPress Briefing, Executive Director Josepha Haden Chomphosy and special guest Channing Ritter give listeners a sneak peek into the WordPress 6.0 release ahead of the Release Candidate 1 (RC1).

Learn more about Style Switcher and the Style variations coming with the Twenty-Twenty-Two theme updates. Chomphosy and Ritter also touch on the Block locking UI features for site builders. Ritter is the design release lead for WordPress 6.0 and she talks about the experience. It’s particular interesting because, the position wasn’t assigned for a few release cycles. I also learned about the new feature tying the Slack #props channel to the WordPress profile. Listen in and have fun.


In his podcast’s 225th, Rob Cairns sits down with Anne McCarthy of Automattic to talk about her Block Museum project and the road to WordPress 6.0.


Carlo Daniele did a deep dive into all the features coming to WordPress 6.0 for Kinsta Blog: What’s New in WordPress 6.0: New Blocks, Style Switching, Template Editing, Webfonts API, and Much More.


For a less technical overview and more visual details, head on over to WPBeginner’s post: What’s Coming in WordPress 6.0 (Features and Screenshots)


Upcoming WordPress Social Learning Meetups

May 9, 2022 3am EDT/ 7am UTC
Showcasing Content with Query Loops w/ Wes Theron

May 12, 2022 – 2pm EDT / 18:00 UTC
Builder Basics: Working with Templates in Full Site Editing (Part 2) w/ Nick Diego

May 18, 2022 – 6 pm EDT / 22:00 UTC
Sticky Styling: Getting Colors, Fonts, and Sizes to Stick w/ Sarah Snow

May 19, 2022 5pm EDT / 21:00 UTC
Using the Navigation Block w/ Wes Theron

May 19, 2022 – 2pm EDT / 18:00 UTC
Builder Basics: Working with Templates in Full Site Editing (Part 3) w/ Nick Diego

May 25, 2022 – 7pm EDT / 23:00 UTC
Design With Me: Create a Simple Website for your Small Business w/ Sarah Snow

Featured Image: “Brick” by marv1nalon3 is marked with CC BY-NC-SA 2.0. found on Openverse


Don’t want to miss the next Weekend Edition?

We hate spam, too and won’t give your email address to anyone except Mailchimp to send out our Weekend Edition

Thanks for subscribing.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.