WordPress 6.0, Four Types of Themes, Museum of Block Art – Weekend Edition #206

Howdy,

So, we are back in Sarasota, Florida and back to our ‘two-litude’ routine in our home. After two weeks of no TV, there are countless series to catch up, too. I also took at day off to meet close friends in Naples. That’s the reason this newsletter gets out a little later than usual. Thanks for your patience.

How is your week going? Hit reply and let me know.

Yours, 💕
Birgit

PS: Together with Taco Verdonschot (Yoast) and Karmen Kendrick, I’ll be a guest on WP Builds Live 200th epsiode, hosted by Nathan Wrigley on Monday, March 14th, at 2pm UK, 10 am EDT. We’ll chat about the WordPress News from this week!

WordPress 6.0

Release coordinator, Hector Prieto, published an update for the WordPress 6.0 release planning. The Release squad is almost complete. It still needs a volunteer for the Accessibility lead slot.

Pietro also mentioned that there will be a Walkthrough for all team members and the public on April 5th, 2022: “In this event, placed closer to Beta than past demos, WordPress leads will review the features ready for the next major release together with the community in a live, moderated stream.” He wrote.

If you want to volunteer creating End User Documentation, we will have plenty of work to do. Email me or ping me in WPSlack and I get you connected with the #docs team.

Important dates:

  • April 12th, 2022 – Beta 1
  • May 3rd, 2022 – Release Candidate 1
  • May 24th, 2022 – Final release

Keep updated via the WordPress 6.0 Development Cycle page

Need a plugin .zip from Gutenberg’s main (trunk) branch?
Gutenberg Times provides daily build for testing and review.
Have you been using it? Hit reply and let me know.

GitHub all releases


The new show with Jamie Marsland WordPress Gutenberg Block News just started on YouTube. Marsland walks you through new features of the editor, the theme of the Week (this week Avant-Garde), controls to lock blocks in place, and other topics related to the Block editor. I am already a subscriber! How about you?


You probably already saw it flying by: The Museum of Block Art initiative spearheaded by Anne McCarthy and made reality by Beatriz Fialho went live this Monday. My favorite piece is Mel Choyce-Dawn’s Block Composition with Large Red Plane, Yellow, Black, Gray, and Blue. It reminds me of my early site designs inspired by Piet Mondrian, a renowned Dutch painter of the 20th century. Once you browse through the 23 art works in the Block Museum, let me know what is your favorite, even if you don’t see a real-world application for it on a site.


Justin Tadlock gave Avant-Garde the 53rd block theme by Brian Gardner a whirl and published his review: Avant-Garde Is an Experimental Block Theme With Well-Designed Patterns


Jacob Martella posted his Personal wishes for full site editing and block themes and goes quite into salient details for each item

Building Themes for Full Site Editing.

In her latest video, Anne McCarthy is Exploring types of WordPress Themes in a full site editing world. Some features of the full-site editing experience are also useful even if you don’t use or build a block theme. McCarthy takes a deep dive into the different types of themes that are now possible with WordPress

  • Classic theme: a theme built the way we’ve been used to with PHP templates, functions.php, and more.
  • Block theme: a theme made for FSE using HTML templates and theme.json, allowing one to manage all parts of their site with blocks.
  • Hybrid theme: a classic theme that adopts a feature(s) of FSE, like theme.json or the template editor.
  • Universal theme: a theme that works with both the Customizer and the Site Editor.

McCarthy goes through some examples to elaborate on these categorizations and then also provides a glimpse of the future.


Justin Tadlock picked up on two conversations in the community and put them into context for you.

WordPress Social Learning Events

Nick Diego published the recording from the WordPress Social Learning event on WordPress.TV Builder Basics – Designing with Columns, Group, and Row Blocks. Diego explored how to design layouts using the Columns, Group, and Row blocks. These blocks represent the fundamental building blocks of every WordPress website. You’ll learn the nuances of each block type and how to configure them correctly.


If you are a developer working with code, the Gutenberg Developer Hours are for you. The next event will take place March 22nd, 2022 16:00 UTC / noon ET.

With Joni Halabi, Tammie Lister and Fabian Kägy

March 15, 2022 at 9:30 am ET / 14:30 UTC
Beginner’s Guide to Full Site Editing with Sarah Snow

March 22, 2022 at 3 am ET / 8:00 UTC
Intro to Theme Blocks with Wes Theron

March 23, 2022 at 1pm ET / 18:00 UTC
Builder Basics: Exploring Block Layout, Alignment, Dimensions, and Spacing with Nick Diego

March 28, 2022 at 11 am ET / 16:00 UTC
Hello Blocks! Coding a custom block with Wes Theron and Ryan Welcher

March 29, 2022 at 3 pm ET / 20:00 UTC
Beginner’s Guide to Full Site Editing with Sarah Snow


Don’t want to miss the next Weekend Edition?

We hate spam, too and won’t give your email address to anyone except Mailchimp to send out our Weekend Edition

Thanks for subscribing.